Smoove and Turrell - leeds wardrobe 20th April 19

Full review below


A gloriously sunny bank holiday Saturday saw Smoove & Turrell bring the funk to Leeds on their Solid Brass - Ten Years of Northern Funk tour. 

As the name of the Tour would suggest, the band are this year marking their tenth anniversary, and the release of an album of the same name, and the tour is a compilation of the bands greatest hits taken from across their 5 studio albums and also includes two new tracks. It is easy to see why, based on this performance tonight, and in the ten years the band have been together, they have earned such a glowing reputation.

First up should have been Samuel S Parkes, however as the crowd were informed, he was understandably unable to make the gig owing to the fact his wife was rushed into hospital to give birth!

This meant the 6 piece band consisting of Smoove on the bongos, Mike Porter on the keyboards, John Turrell on vocals, Lloyd Wright on the guitar, Neil Harland on bass and Oscar Cassidy on the drums, took to the stage at 9:30 and opened proceedings with ‘Have Love’ taken from their third studio album Broken Toys which instantly got the crowd moving.

They then continued their set at a blistering pace keeping the crowd bouncing throughout. Although Smoove & Turrell are known for their Funk/Pop/soul sound, proceedings were then slowed down slightly with the song ‘Without You’ which, whilst giving the audience a chance to catch their breath showcased the true power of Turrells voice.

The pace of the show did not let up for long however, and the band then picked up the tempo again with ‘slowdown’ taken from the second album Eccentric Audio and they powered their way into what for me was one of the stand out tracks from the night ‘Lay it on me’ which got a massive reaction from the crowd and had everyone in the place dancing.

The band continued the show at a frenetic pace again, plating tracks from across their 5 albums and closed proceedings with the fantastic ‘You Could’ve Been a Lady’, leaving the crowd wanting more. 

The band came back on the stage to a massive cheer and continued right where they left off with the song ‘Let Yourself Go’ which the crowd truly did! 

Smoove & Turrell then closed the show in style with one of the two new tracks from their Solid Brass – Ten Years of Northern Funk, Smooves reworking of The Spencer Davies Groups’ ‘I’m A Man’ which ended the show in style.

Smoove & Turrell are touring the country for the next few months celebrating their ten year anniversary and I would strongly recommend you get tickets and go and see this band bring the funk.

Set List:

· Have Love

· Hammond

· Don’t Go

· New Jerusalem

· Something Better

· I Can’t Give You Up

· I Feel Alive

· Without You

· Slowdown

· Lay It On Me

· You Don’t Know

· You’re Gone

· Mr Hyde

· Will You Be Mine

· Beggarman

· You Could’ve Been A Lady

· Let Yourself Go

· I’m A Man